University Archives & Special Collections: Home

The Archives and Cataloging Division of the Donnelly Library oversees all historical and archival materials housed within the Donnelly Library, which are organized into the following two categories:

• University Archives: the permanent valuable non-current records of the University. These records provide a historical, administrative, legal, and financial record of the institution and its many parts. 
• Special Collections: books, maps, photographs, and manuscript collections emphasizing the environment, history, culture, and peoples of New Mexico and greater Las Vegas area, as well as the high plains of Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas. 

Access to all archival collections is by appointment only.

Archives staff are happy to assist the community with their research needs. To ensure a smooth reference transaction, please keep the following in mind:

• Please be as specific as possible.
• Include all pertinent information, such as: complete names (including maiden names), dates (estimated is acceptable), and locations.
• Requests submitted in writing (via email) are preferred in order to minimize possible errors with names, places, and dates.
• Staff can/will digitize materials on demand, depending on the size and condition of the item requested.
• Questions are answered in the order in which they are received. Response time depends on the volume of requests and staffing levels.
• In-depth research may be beyond the purview of archival staff.

Contact:

Katie Gray
kathleengray@nmhu.edu
505-454-3255

Access to all archival collections is by appointment only.

Appointments are available Monday-Friday, 8:00-5:00. To schedule an appointment, please contact the Head of Archives and Cataloging Division at 505-454-3255 or kathleengray@nmhu.edu. 

Guidelines for visitors:

• Providing information on your research needs to the archival staff ahead of your visit will allow them to prepare materials for your use and maximize your research time.
• Please check in at the information desk, which is directly inside the front door of the library. A form of identification (NMHU ID, driver's license, passport, etc.) must be left at the front desk for the duration of the visit.
• Bags must be left in a locker.
• Visitors may have a pad and pencil and/or a laptop with them in the archival areas.
• Visitors are welcome to use their phone to take photos of the materials for personal reference use. Standard copyright laws apply, just as with making a photocopy.

Address:

Thomas C. Donnelly Library
802 National Avenue
Las Vegas, NM  87701