LibGuides: Forestry: Articles and More

Journal Databases (NMHU credentials required)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles.
AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Materials relating to agriculture, forestry and animal science
Agriculture Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Discover a comprehensive periodical collection supporting research in agriculture and related fields
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Environmental Studies & Policy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database provides environmentalists, policy makers, corporate researchers, educators, students, ecologists, engineers and more with a comprehensive, easy-to-access, online resource that answers all their environmentally-related inquires with articles from more than 700 journals.
Gardening and Horticulture (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gardening hobbyists, master gardeners and biotechnologists alike will find practical applications as well as the scientific theories of horticulture studies in one convenient collection.
General Science Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
With the General Science Collection, researchers can stay current with the latest scientific developments in biology, chemistry, particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology and hundreds of other areas. More than 200 journals are covered.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns. Indexes scholarly, general interest, and government information. Some full-text.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences I , II, III & IV Collections This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. --Journal Title List
ProQuest Research Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Search journals, magazines and newspapers for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources.

Online Resources (No credentials required)

Agroforestry Resources
This resources page of the USDA National Agroforestry Center (NAC) is a collection of agroforestry-related tools and information sources for those who want to learn, discover, teach others, and share. Our vast library of publications, photos, and other media can be browsed and downloaded. You can also find more information about specific USDA programs and our partner working groups. NAC has a variety of displays, webinars, and other training resources users can share with colleagues and partners. This is a one-stop shop for all NAC publications including our newsletters and technical guides. There are also proceedings from agroforestry-related conferences.
Forest Service Publications
Brochures, fact sheets, technical reports, and other publications from the USDA Forest Service.
Google Scholar
Search engine that allows the user to search for scholarly articles or case law across the web. Full text availability is noted in the search results.
NAL SEARCH
SEARCH is the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It provides simple, one-stop access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC).
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a social networking site primarily for scientists and researchers, whose mission is to connect the world of science and make research open to all. Many researchers post published articles or make them available upon request. ResearchGate is free to join. For ease of verification, users should sign up with their institutional (NMHU) email address.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect indexes over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine information, including e-books and peer-reviewed journals. A portion of these materials are available open access.
USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by USGS (United States Geological Survey) scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.

Some publishers have a portion of their publications available as open access. Be aware when searching these sites that you may encounter a paywall for some resources. The list below includes these open access sites.