LibGuides: PSYC 6020 Course Guide: Articles and Databases

Journal Finder (searchable A-Z list of journals)

Journal Finder (searchable A-Z list of journals)
If you are looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, use Journal Finder® . It contains access to 65,901 titles!

APA PsychINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

APA PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide

What is indexed by PsycINFO?

SUBJECT COVERED

Psychology
Behavioral Sciences
Social Sciences
Neuroscience
Related fields (business, nursing, law, education)

TYPE OF RESOURCE INDEXED

Journal articles (80% of database)
Dissertations
Books
Book Chapters
Book Reviews
Editorials
Encyclopedias
Historic records going back to 17th and18th century

APA Databases Methodology Field Values

See Chapter 1: Scholarly Writing and Publishing Principles of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th edition, for more information about the types of articles and papers published in scientific journals.

APA PsycTests

Repository of psychological tests and measurements including thousands of actual test instruments, including international items. Most can be downloaded to use in research and teaching. As of February 2024, there are 75,340 records in APA PsycTests.

Finding Tests in APA PsycTests: Using the EBSCOhost Platform Video Tutorial

APA PsycTests Handout

PubMed

Tutorials: PubMed

List of Databases for Psychology

APA PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
PsycARTICLES includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. It also offers extensive backfile coveragenearly all American Psychological Association journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO)
This database is the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed..
APA PsycTESTS
Repository of psychological tests and measurements including thousands of actual test instruments, including international items. Most can be downloaded to use in research and teaching.
BioMed Central
Over 100 Open Access journals covering all areas of Biology and Medicine. Personal registration is required to search this database.
Medline (OCLC FirstSearch)
Covers all areas of medicine.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests (EBSCO)
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. 4 simultaneous users at a time.
Psychology Collection (Gale)
Minds will meet when researchers in the field of psychology connect with the vast database of information found in Psychology Collection. Students, psychologists, counselors, counselees, behavioral scientists, and other researchers will find relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in over 3.1 million articles.
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) **formerly PILOTS**
This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
PubMed
PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse.

See Videos and More tab for list of streaming video databases.

PSYC 6020 Course Guide