LibGuides: Generalist Social Work Practice (SOWK 3650): Explore

Explore

Journals and Databases

Social Work
Publishes articles on all aspects of social work and social welfare that yield new insights into established practices, evaluate new techniques and research, examine current social problems, or provide critical analysis on problems in the profession.
Journal of Social Work Education (Current)
The Journal of Social Work Educationis currently abstracted/indexed in Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts; Current Contents; Current Index to Journals in Education; Education Resources Information Center; Research Into Higher Education; Scopus; Sociological Abstracts; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Social Work Abstracts.
Journal of Social Work Education (EBSCO)
Presents a forum for international debate on important issues & provides an opportunity for the expression of new ideas & proposals on the structure & content of social care & social work education, training & development.

Alexander Street - a ProQuest Company (formerly VAST) This link opens in a new window
Valuable video, music and unique primary source collections encompassing nearly a billion searchable items in 20 academic disciplines as well as 270 million pages of historical primary source collections. Each video comes complete with keyword-searchable, synchronized transcripts as the video plays. Customize clips, name them, and annotate them.
APA PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. It also offers extensive backfile coveragenearly all American Psychological Association journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database is the American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed..
APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Repository of psychological tests and measurements including thousands of actual test instruments, including international items. Most can be downloaded to use in research and teaching.
Encyclopedia of Social Work This link opens in a new window
Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards. New articles and revisions to existing articles are added regularly. Published by the NASW Press and Oxford University Press.
Exploring Race in Society (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming more than 30,000 independent and documentary films across a broad range of university subjects.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. 4 simultaneous users at a time.
Polling the Nations (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
A database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000 questions and responses, from 18,000 surveys and 1,700 polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.
Psychology Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Minds will meet when researchers in the field of psychology connect with the vast database of information found in Psychology Collection. Students, psychologists, counselors, counselees, behavioral scientists, and other researchers will find relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in over 3.1 million articles.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychotherapy.Net This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to the best training in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling and social work. Videos can be searched by therapeutic issue, by expert, by population, or by approach, such as Adlerian or Jungian. Simply click on the image of the video and select View Video. Transcripts and subtitles are available for many of the videos.
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) **formerly PILOTS** This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse.

APA PsycARTICLES

APA PsycINFO

SocINDEX

LIBROS Search Box

Narrowing or Broadening Your Topic

When you need to broaden or narrow down your topic, ask yourself:

Who?

Who am I researching?

Consider age, gender, profession, ethnicity, humans vs. animals vs. corporations, etc.

What?

What am I researching?

Consider potential causes and effects, trends, statistics, problems, etc.

When?

What time period am I interested in?

Consider when the topic became significant, century vs. specific dates, historical vs. current data, etc.

Where?

Where is my research topic taking place?

Consider country, state, city, urban vs. rural, environments like prisons vs. college towns, etc.

Why?

Why does my research matter?

Consider what makes it important to you, to your colleagues and peers, to your community, to the world, etc.

Generalist Social Work Practice (SOWK 3650)